Here Comes The Story Teller!!!

I am a story teller, I am a story teller
I can tell a tale, I can tell it well

– By a famous African lady story teller

Life’s such a mixed bag of stories. Some are happy, some are sad, some are funny, some are mad! But nevertheless, storytelling has always been part of tradition. Probably, man must have started sharing experiences through drawings, gradually progressing to sounds, then speech and then writing. Some could have been fictional while some must have happened for real. I guess what started as an act of sharing experiences must have slowly developed into story telling.

Stories have always fascinated me. I have grown up reading Amar Chitra Katha, Panchatantra, Hitopadesha stories and even today certain stories are fresh in my mind. The colorful illustrations just thrilled me. I remember I once wanted to be an illustrator! But look at the turn of events! I never knew I would end up storytelling!

A workshop on how to become a playwright (by the famous play wright Ramu Ramanathan) last year, opened me up to such an extent that I felt free and light as a helium balloon! I have never felt so liberated in my life! In that process, I also got an opportunity to do a basic course in story telling at Kathalaya, Bangalore under the guidance of the famous story teller Mrs. Geeta Ramanujam. A chance interaction with the kids of my organization’s (Basic healthcare services) Phulwaris (Rural creches) wherein I had to recite poems to them and teach the Phulwari workers how to effectively use poems and stories while they engage the kids, made me wonder whether I should actually consider story telling seriously? My brains already packed with the stories of Rajasthan (bravery, valor, honor) and witnessing puppet shows, my heart was seeking to vent out and immerse myself into the stories.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, when I got a chance to attend the advances in storytelling this time, I knew this was something I would love to do and it went out to be an experience surpassing my own expectations. I had transformed into this one individual I could hardly recognize! What was more exciting was my interaction with the fellow story tellers and each of us so different, having such distinct styles that it was lovely to realize that variety indeed is the spice of life!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, my dear friends, sharing with you my first in storytelling. An adorable audience, kids are a pleasure to work with.

As Anon has rightly said – Enjoy telling, that is the greatest gift you can give to listeners

So, hope you enjoy my storytelling just as much as I had performing.

One thought on “Here Comes The Story Teller!!!

Leave a Reply

