This Special Diwali …

“All I want is to stand in a field and to smell green, to taste air, to feel the earth want me, without all this concrete hating me.”

Every morning I wake up with a fixed schedule of my day in my head and go on following it throughout the day. My alarm saves me from letting me miss my gym workouts by waking me up for it, early in the morning. By the time I’m back from gym, its already time to hurry up for office. And, the days at office or field are never the same. From running after my coordinator to get the permission to get the office computers repaired and office cleaning to planning of awareness camps, conducting trainings on access of e-services to strengthening the SHGs of some very typical villages and preparing reports to listening to the the enormous ‘office bhasad’ and team issues; by lat evening, my day reaches to a point where all i want to do is go home and lie down and just be alone with my laptop and food. This is pretty much the picture of what my day looks like.

I got a chance to take a good refreshing break on Diwali. While all my colleagues and fellows were happy to go home to celebrate Diwali with their friends and family, I was left to be here in Panna. Nevertheless, my celebrations this year were the best as I went to my colleague’s village Sunhera to be a part of her Diwali celebration.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Such a simplistic and beautiful celebration of Diwali where I could hardly hear any noise of firecrackers burning. While at this time in cities, air is so polluted, I was having the most fresh air that I could have.

Then comes, the mesmerising walk in the fields, the next morning where I sat nearby a pond that almost fetched all the farm fields in the village. 6:00 AM in the morning, sitting on stairs by the pond surrounded by rice fields , watching a sunrise was the best morning I had waken up to. And, suddenly a photographer in me woke up trying to capture each and every beautiful moment of that morning. Here comes, my collection:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

